Institute for Technical Physics

Institute for Technical Physics

Welcome to the Institute of Technical Physics (ITEP)

The Institute of Technical Physics (ITEP) is an organizational unit of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) in the Helmholtz Association (HGF).

 

The central fields of activity of the ITEP are superconductivity and cryogenics with their applications. The main focus of technical developments is currently on nuclear fusion and superconducting components for power- and magnet technology. The development of superconductors, especially high-temperature superconductors, cryogenic components and the characterization of low-temperature structural materials are also essential for this.

The work of the ITEP is application-oriented, but is accompanied by fundamental developments to the necessary extent. In the medium and long term, they are involved in national collaborative projects, virtual institutes, EU projects and cooperation with industry.

In the long term, the work of the ITEP is anchored in the "Fusion", "Storage and Networked Infrastructures" and "Matter and Universe" programmes of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and the Helmholtz Association of German Research Centres.

Institut für Technische Physik (ITEP)

Institut für Technische Physik (ITEP)

Willkommen am Institut für Technische Physik (ITEP)

Das Institut für Technische Physik (ITEP) ist eine Organisationseinheit des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft (HGF).

 

Zentrale Arbeitsgebiete des ITEP sind Supraleitung und Kryotechnik mit ihren Anwendungen. Die Schwerpunkte technischer Entwicklungen liegen derzeit im Bereich der Kernfusion und bei supraleitenden Komponenten der Magnet- und Energietechnik. Essentiell dafür sind auch die Entwicklung von Supraleitern, speziell Hochtemperatur-Supraleitern, Kryokomponenten und die Charakterisierung von Tieftemperatur-Strukturmaterialien.

Die Arbeiten des ITEP sind anwendungsorientiert, werden jedoch im nötigen Umfang von grundlegenden Entwicklungen begleitet. Sie sind mittel- und langfristig in nationale Verbundvorhaben, virtuelle Institute, EU-Projekte und Kooperationen mit der Industrie eingebunden.

Die Arbeiten des ITEP sind langfristig in den Programmen „Fusion“, „Speicher und vernetzte Infrastrukturen“ sowie „Materie und Universum“ des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) und der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft deutscher Forschungszentren verankert.