High-current components for Hydrogen and Fusion

A sustainable economy of energy requires an efficient use of resources as well as suitable energy carriers and ways of transport. This is supported by our Research & Development in the research topic " High-current components for Hydrogen & Fusion".

Hydrogen - especially in as a cryogenic liquid LH2 - is an energy carrier with a energy density slightly higher than compressed natural gas without pushing climate change. The provided high-value cold shall be used for futher increasing energy efficiency. A combination with high-temperture superconductor (HTS) technology is beneficial. The required additional cooling effort is eleminated when HTS & LH2 technology are combined. This enables high-effiency applications in energy and power engineering in even smaller classes of power. In this topic, we focus (in collaboration with other research topics and institutes of KIT) on applications in e.g.

  • hybrid energy transport (chemical by LH2, electrical by high-current HTS)
  • liquefaction, storage and transport of LH2
  • passive components of power engineering
  • power trains based on LH2 and HTS (trucks, trains, ships, aircrafts)

 

In order to replicate the energy production in our sun in a harmless way on earth, a suitable diluted gas can be heated to temperatures of about one hundred million °C, so that nuclear fusion can occur. This gas must be enclosed and kept away from the wall of the vessel, otherwise it will cool down too quickly and heat the wall unnecessarily. For this confinement extremely strong magnetic fields are used, which can be generated energy-efficiently by means of superconducting magnetic coils. These superconductors have no resistance at very low temperatures (approx. -270°C) and thus cause almost no losses. The confinement principle with superconducting high-current magnet coils is demonstrated in Germany at W7-X  and will be demonstrated in the next few years at the JT-60SA  (Japan) and ITER (France) facilities, among others.

 

The ITEP has supported the development of this technology for years, e.g. for W7-X, JT-60SA and ITER - among other things by building and testing superconducting model coils for fusion and current leads. The expertise gained and the experimental facilities created in this process are now being used in many ways to

  • to produce high-current conductors such as the HTS cross conductor from the comparatively new high-temperature superconductors (HTS)
  • to investigate the applicability of this HTS CrossConductor (CroCo) for future fusion coils
  • to promote EU and global cooperation on the application of HTS materials in fusion (EuroFUSION and HTS4Fusion)
  • to investigate cryogenic functional and structural materials and components with regard to future fusion magnets
  • to carry out high-voltage investigations on components relevant to fusion

     

In addition to this directly fusion-related work, the focus is also on the transfer of existing know-how on issues and applications outside of fusion. Examples of this are

Hochstromkomponenten für Wasserstoff & Fusion

Eine nachhaltige Energiewirtschaft erfordert sowohl einen effizienten Umgang mit den Ressourcen als auch geeignete Energieträger und Übertragungswege. Unsere Arbeiten im Forschungsthema „Hochstromkomponenten für Wasserstoff & Fusion“ unterstützen das.

Wasserstoff – insbesondere in tiefkalter, flüssiger Form als LH2 - ist ein klimafreundlicher Energieträger mit einer etwas höheren Energiedichte als komprimiertes Erdgas. Die enthaltene hochwertige Kälte sollte zur Effizienzerhöhung weiter genutzt werden. Dazu bieten sich Hochtemperatursupraleiter (HTS) an. Der erforderliche Kühlaufwand entfällt bei der Kombination der beiden Technologien HTS & LH2 und erlaubt damit hocheffizienten Anwendungen der Energie- und Elektrotechnik auch schon bei kleineren Leistungsklassen. Hier arbeiten wir (in Zusammenarbeit mit den anderen Forschungsthemen und Instituten des KIT) insbesondere bezüglich der Anwendungen:

  • Hybride Energieübertragung (chemisch mittels LH2, elektrisch mittels HTS)
  • Verflüssigung, Speicherung und Transport von LH2
  • Passive Komponenten für die Energietechnik
  • Antriebsstränge basierend auf LH2 und HTS (LKW, Züge, Schiffe, Flugzeuge)

 

Um die Energieproduktion unserer Sonne auf ungefährliche Weise auf der Erde nachzubilden, muss ein geeignetes verdünntes Gas auf Temperaturen von etwa Hundert Millionen °C erhitzt werden, sodass es zur Fusion von Atomkernen kommt. Dieses Gas muss eingeschlossen und von der Wandung des Gefäßes ferngehalten werden, da es sonst  zu schnell abkühlt und die Wandung unnötig erhitzt. Für diesen Einschluss werden extrem starke Magnetfelder benutzt, die energieeffizient mit supraleitender Magnetspulen erzeugt werden können. Diese Supraleiter haben bei sehr tiefen Temperaturen (ca. -270°C) keinen Widerstand und verursachen hierdurch fast keine Verluste. Das Einschlussprinzip mit supraleitenden Hochstrom-Magnetspulen ist unter anderem in Deutschland bei W7-X gezeigt und wird in den nächsten Jahren unter anderem in den Anlagen JT-60SA (Japan) und ITER (Frankreich) demonstriert werden.

 

Das ITEP hat über Jahre die Entwicklung dieser Technik z.B. für W7-X, JT-60SA und ITER gestützt – unter anderem durch den Bau und Test von supraleitenden Modellspulen für die Fusion und von Stromzuführungen. Die gewonnene Expertise und die geschaffenen Experimentiereinrichtungen werden heute  genutzt um

  • Hochstromleiter, wie den HTS Kreuzleiter aus den vergleichsweise neuen Hochtemperatur-Supraleitern (HTS) herzustellen
  • Die Anwendbarkeit dieses HTS Kreuzleiter (engl. CrossConductor = CroCo) für künftige Fusionsspulen zu untersuchen
  • EU- und weltweite Zusammenarbeiten zur Anwendung von HTS Materialien in der Fusion voranzutreiben (EuroFUSION und HTS4Fusion)
  • Kryogene Funktions- und Strukturmaterialien sowie Bauteile im Hinblick auf künftige Fusionsmagnete zu untersuchen
  • Hochspannungsuntersuchungen an fusionsrelevanten Bauteilen durchzuführen

     

Neben diesen direkt fusionsbezogenen Arbeiten ist auch der Transfer des vorhandenen Know-hows zu Fragestellungen und Anwendungen außerhalb der Fusion im Fokus. Beispiele hierfür sind