Institute for Technical Physics

Rotating Machines

In the research topic Rotating Machines, we develop and test superconducting electrical windings for use in rotors and stators of various applications. Selected applications are wind power generators (AC or DC design), turbo generators, and motors & generators for electric flying.

Particular emphasis of the research is in the following areas:

 

Superconducting rotors: The high current densities allow the construction of very compact rotors with high magnetic fields in the air gap. Machine specifications, material limitations and cooling require specific expertise. For example, electric strength and variation of excitation require a special insulation technique for the windings.

 

Superconducting stators: Superconductors in stators are a challenge for superconductors. Depending on the electrical frequency, considerable AC losses occur. The winding system must be optimized accordingly. In most cases, complex geometries, which go beyond simple solenoids, pancake or racetrack coils, and possibly have dedicated end windings, have to be investigated and developed for this purpose.

 

Heat dissipation under rotation: The wide spread applications cover a large range of rotational speeds (from about 10 rpm to 3600 rpm). Different cooling concepts can be advantageous for the different speed ranges (cold gas cooling, heat conduction, heat-pipes, combinations thereof, ...). The cooling concepts must be reliable under operating conditions with regard to cooling capacity and the integrity of the overall system. For this purpose, a "test-rig" will be erected offering the options for research, characterization and qualification of large (turbo) rotors under operating conditions in a spin bunker (proof-of-concept).

 

Pancake F. Schreiner-ITEP
Double Pancake
HTS Geno T. Arndt_ITEP
Test-Rig for HTS Generator

Institut für Technische Physik (ITEP)

Rotierende Maschinen

Im Forschungsthema Rotierende Maschinen entwickeln und erproben wir supraleitende elektrische Wicklungen für den Einsatz in Rotoren und Statoren verschiedener Anwendungen. Konkrete Anwendungen sind Windkraft-Generatoren (AC- oder DC-Design), Turbo-Generatoren, und Motoren & Generatoren für das Elektrische Fliegen.

Geforscht wird insbesondere in den Aspekten:

 

Supraleitende Rotoren: Die hohen Stromdichten erlauben den Bau sehr kompakter Rotoren mit hohen Magnetfeldern im Luftspalt. Maschinenspezifikationen, Materialgrenzen und Kühlung erfordern spezifische Entwicklungen, wie z.B. eine besondere Isolationstechnik der Windungen für die Spannungsfestigkeit und Variation der Erregung .

 

Supraleitende Statoren: Supraleiter in Statoren sind eine große Herausforderung für Supraleiter mit verschwindendem Gleichstromwiderstand. Je nach elektrischer Frequenz treten beachtliche AC-Verluste auf. Das Wicklungssystem muss dahingehend optimiert werden. Meist sind dafür komplexe Geometrien, die über einfache Solenoide, Pancake- oder Racetrack-Spulen hinaus gehen, und gegebenenfalls dedizierte Wickelköpfe aufweisen, zu erforschen.

 

Entwärmung unter Rotation: Die verschiedenen Anwendungen decken einen großen Bereich an Rotationsgeschwindigkeiten (von ca. 10 Upm bis 3600 Upm) ab. Für die verschiedenen Drehzahlbereiche können unterschiedliche Kühlkonzepte vorteilhaft sein (Kaltgas-Kühlung, Wärmeleitung, Heat-pipes, Kombinationen davon,...). Die Kühlkonzepte müssen unter Betriebsbedingungen sicher bezüglich der Kühlleistung als auch der Integrität des Gesamtsystems sein. Dazu befindet sich ein „Test-Rig im Aufbau, das in einem Schleuderbunker die Möglichkeit bietet, Rotoren unter Betriebsbedingungen zu erforschen, zu charakterisieren und zu qualifizieren (proof-of-concept).

Pancake F. Schreiner-ITEP
Double Pancake
HTS Geno T. Arndt_ITEP
Test-Rig für HTS Generator