Institute for Technical Physics

Grid- and Energy Components

StrombegrenzerKIT

Our research area is dedicated to the development of superconducting components for energy technology. These include cables, transformers, current limiters, and new components which become more efficient due to superconductivity or are made possible by the special properties of superconductivity.

 

SC TransformerKIT
Transformatoren

Superconducting transformers can not only be more efficient than conventional systems, but due to the current-limiting properties of superconductors, they can also ensure better stability of the power grid.

Cable TestKIT
Kabel

Superconducting cables are characterized by a higher energy density and lower losses compared to conventional cables. Developments can help to upgrade existing cable routes to meet the increased power requirements, e.g. in urban areas.

FCLKIT
Fault Current Limiter

The coupling of supply networks increases the stability of the network, but also has disadvantages in the event of a fault (short circuit). Due to their properties, superconducting current limiters can achieve an almost loss-free coupling of grids and at the same time reduce the disadvantageous reduction of the impedance in case of a fault.

You can find further informations here.

Ampacity
New Components

The intrinsic properties of the superconductors can also be used in other power engineering applications such as DC busbars.

Institut für Technische Physik (ITEP)

Netz- und Energiekomponenten

Strombegrenzer

Unser Forschungsbereich beschäftigt sich mit der Entwicklung von supraleitenden Komponenten für die Energietechnik. Hierzu gehören Kabel, Transformatoren, Strombegrenzer, und neue Komponenten, welche durch die Supraleitung effizienter werden oder durch die speziellen Eigenschaften der Supraleitung erst möglich werden.

SL TransformatorKIT
Transformatoren

Supraleitende Transformatoren können nicht nur effizienter als herkömmliche Systeme sein, sondern durch die strombegrenzenden Eigenschaften der Supraleiter auch für eine bessere Stabilität des Versorgungsnetzes sorgen.

Kabel-TestsetupKIT
Kabel

Supraleitende Kabel zeichnen sich im Vergleich mit konventionellen Kabeln durch eine höhere Energiedichte und geringere Verluste aus. Entwicklungen können helfen, bestehende Kabeltrassen aufzurüsten um dem erhöhten Leistungsbedarf z.B. in Ballungszentren gerecht zu werden.

StrombegrenzerKIT
Strombegrenzer

Die Kopplung von Versorgungsnetzen erhöht die Netzstabilität, hat aber auch Nachteile im Störungsfall (Kurzschluß). Supraleitende Strombegrenzer können durch ihre Eigenschaften eine nahezu verlustfreie Kopplung von Netzen erreichen und dabei gleichzeitig die nachteilige Verringerung der Impedanz im Störfall reduzieren.

Kabel2
Neue Komponenten

Die intrinsischen Eigenschaften der Supraleiter können auch in anderen energietechnischen Anwendungen wie zum Beispiel Gleichstrom-Stromschienen zum Einsatz kommen.