Institute for Technical Physics

Structural and Functional Materials for Cryogenic Application

Material research for cryogenic applications have been carried out at the KIT Institute for Technical Physics (ITEP) within the framework of various research projects for more than 30 years. These include superconducting magnet technology, cryogenic energy applications for superconducting motors, generators, and transformers as well as topics in aerospace and medical technology.

 

Material Development Within this research topic, materials (metal alloys or fibre composites) are defined and analyses are performed on manufactured test specimens, for example from melts or additive manufactured material samples, under operationally relevant conditions.

 

Material Qualification Based on standardized test methods, adapted test conditions are created in order to match the extraordinary requirements of material characterization and analysis of the very different R&D work or, if necessary, to develop new ones. In order to characterize the produced materials as comprehensively as possible, the following measuring methods at cryogenic temperatures (RT-4.2K) are mainly used:

  • - mechanical axial/torsional/bending/shearing behaviour under static or alternating load, fracture behaviour
  • - physical quantities such as electrical/thermal conductivity, therm. expansion, heat capacity, magnetisation
  • - electro-mechanical behaviour of single or stranded superconducting tapes
  • - microstructural investigations for material and failure analysis

 

The tasks range from basic material developments and investigations to R&D projects together with industry and standardisation work, for example in the DKE/IEC. The results of the research work flow directly into publications and teaching.

Research infrastructure: CryoMaK FuSyC HV Laboratory Cryogenics

PDF fact sheet

Institut für Technische Physik (ITEP)

Struktur- und Funktionsmaterialien für Kryoanwendungen

Materialuntersuchungen für kryogene Anwendungen werden im Institut für Technische Physik (ITEP) des KITs im Rahmen diverser Forschungsprojekten seit über 30 Jahren durchgeführt. Zu nennen sind hier supraleitende Magnettechnologie, kryogene Energieanwendungen für supraleitende Motoren, Generatoren, Transformatoren als auch Themen in Luft- und Raumfahrt oder Medizintechnik.

 

Werkstoffentwicklung Innerhalb dieses Forschungsthemas werden Werkstoffe (Metall-Legierungen oder Faserverbundstoffe) definiert und Analysen an hergestellten Prüflingen, beispielsweise aus Schmelzen oder additiv gefertigten Materialproben, unter betriebsrelevanten Bedingungen durchgeführt.

 

Werkstoffqualifizierung Ausgehend von standardisierten Testmethoden werden angepasste Testbedingungen geschaffen um diese flexibel auf die außergewöhnlichen Anforderungen der Materialcharakterisierung und Analyse der sehr unterschiedlichen FuE Arbeiten zu adaptieren oder gegebenenfalls neu zu entwickeln. Um die hergestellten Werkstoffe möglichst umfassend zu charakterisieren, werden folgende Messmethoden bei kryogenen Temperaturen (RT-4.2K) in der Hauptsache eingesetzt:

  • - mechanische Axial-/Torsions-/Biege/Scher-Verhalten unter statischer- bzw. wechsel-Last, Bruchverhalten
  • - physikalische Größen wie elektr./therm. Leitfähigkeit, therm. Ausdehnung, Wärmekapazität, Magnetisierung
  • - elektro-mechanisches Verhalten von einzelnen oder verseilten supraleitenden Bändern
  • - mikrostrukturelle Untersuchungen zur Material- und Fehleranalyse

 

Die Aufgaben erstrecken sich von grundlegenden Materialentwicklungen und -untersuchungen über FuE Projekte zusammen mit der Industrie bis hin zu Normungsarbeiten beispielsweise in der DKE/IEC. Die Ergebnisse der Forschungsarbeiten fließen direkt in Veröffentlichungen und die Lehre ein.

Forschungsinfrastruktur: CryoMaK FuSyC HV-Labor Kryotechnik

PDF Fact-Sheet