Institute for Technical Physics

Superconducting Materials

Forschungsthema Supraleitende Materialien

In the research topic Superconducting Materials, we investigate application-relevant superconductors, mainly in the form of thin films, with regard to optimal manufacturing methods, improvements of their electrical transport properties and possible applications. The work is divided into three main research areas, which are interlinked and build on each other:

Film deposition: The growth of films and multilayers of novel and established superconductors is fundamentally investigated and optimized for high-quality samples (with respect to microstructure and superconductivity). Pulsed laser deposition (PLD) and chemical solution deposition (CSD) are the main methods used.

Structure-property relationships: Material parameters and structure-property relationships of new, especially application-relevant superconductors are investigated in detail. Promising superconductors are tailor-made and optimized for specific fields of application in energy technology. In particular, the state of knowledge on the anisotropic pinning behavior of layer systems of unconventional superconductors and their nanocomposites as well as on the pinning landscape in low temperature superconductors (e.g. Nb3Sn) will be extended with the aim to be able to adjust the optimal microstructure for an application and thereby to achieve possible new record values in pinning force and critical current density or to reach fundamental limits.

Transport phenomena: The behavior of vortex matter in anisotropic, unconventional superconductors is fundamentally investigated in a large temperature-magnetic field orientation parameter space. Here we work closely with international synthesis and high-field laboratories. Commercial tape conductors are electrically characterized in the application-relevant parameter space before they are used in experiments and developments for power engineering and magnet coil applications.

Institut für Technische Physik (ITEP)

Supraleitende Materialien

Forschungsthema Supraleitende Materialien

Im Forschungsthema Supraleitende Materialien untersuchen wir anwendungsrelevante Supraleiter, vorwiegend in Form dünner Schichten, hinsichtlich optimaler Herstellungsmethoden, Verbesserungen ihrer elektrischen Transporteigenschaften und möglichen Anwendungen. Die Arbeiten gliedern sich in drei Forschungsschwerpunkte, die miteinander verknüpft sind und aufeinander aufbauen:

Dünnschichtdeposition: Das Wachstum von Schichten und Schichtsystemen neuartiger und etablierter Supraleiter wird grundlegend untersucht und für hochqualitative Proben (hinsichtlich Mikrostruktur und Supraleitung) optimiert. Hierbei kommen vor allem die gepulste Laserdeposition (PLD) sowie die chemische Lösungsabscheidung (CSD) zum Einsatz.

Struktur-Eigenschaftsbeziehungen: Materialparameter und Struktur-Eigenschaftsbeziehungen neuer, vor allem anwendungsrelevanter Supraleiter werden im Detail untersucht. Vielversprechende Supraleiter werden im Hinblick auf Anwendungen in der Energietechnik für bestimmte Anwendungsfelder maßgeschneidert und optimiert. Dabei wird insbesondere der Kenntnisstand zum anisotropen Pinningverhalten von Schichtsystemen unkonventioneller Supraleiter und ihrer Nanokomposite als auch zur Pinninglandschaft in Tieftemperatursupraleitern (z.B. Nb3Sn) mit dem Ziel erweitert, die optimale Mikrostruktur für eine Anwendung einstellen zu können und dabei mögliche neue Rekordwerte in Pinningkraft und kritischer Stromdichte zu erzielen bzw. fundamentale Grenzen zu erreichen. 

Transportphänomene: Das Verhalten der Vortex-Materie in anisotropen, unkonventionellen Supraleitern wird in einem großen Temperatur-Magnetfeld-Orientierungs-Parameterraum grundlegend untersucht. Hier arbeiten wir eng mit internationalen Synthese- und Hochfeldlaboren zusammen. Kommerzielle Bandleiter werden im anwendungsrelevanten Parameterbereich elektrisch charakterisiert, bevor sie in Experimenten und Entwicklungen zu Energietechnischen und Magnetspulenanwendungen verwendet werden.