Institute for Technical Physics

Energy storage systems and multimodal components

ESS

60kW Flywheel Energy Storage System

A flywheel is a storage technology that contains energy in kinetic form. This energy is quadratically proportional to the rotor speed. In order to increase the stored energy, technologies for increasing the speed are therefore being investigated.

The 60kW flywheel system at the PHIL laboratory consists of:

  • The actual flywheel rotor, which is made of carbon fiber reinforced plastic and rotates magnetically mounted in a vacuum housing at a maximum speed of 45000 rpm.

  • The electrical machine (in our case a permanent magnet excited synchronous machine), which either converts the mechanical energy from the rotor into electrical energy (the system discharges) or electrical energy into rotational energy (the system charges).

  • The power electronic converter, which connects the electric machine to the mains and controls the speed of the rotor.

  • The electronic controller, which ensures the safe operation of the machine.


Micro gas turbine


Power to Gas" is seen as an important key technology for achieving the goals of energy system transformation. With this technology, electricity is electrochemically converted into gas and stored, transported and made available again in existing gas infrastructures. Research is being conducted on many links in the conversion and distribution process.

Our network of plants examines in detail the last link in this chain, the process of converting gas into electrical and thermal power at the end consumer. The work includes modelling, the development of application scenarios and the experimental investigation of the behaviour of the gas turbine in the application case.

The unique selling point of this project is the integration of all work steps into the so-called real-time simulation environment (Power Hardware in the Loop). In contrast to theoretical simulations, the existing real-time simulation system enables us to connect the real gas turbine and the simulation model. This means that all investigation and modelling results can be scientifically validated reliably. This benefits above all the results of the application scenarios and, as a result, their informative value.

Data sheet of the plant:

  • Electrical power: 3.2 kVA
  • Thermal output: 15.6 kW
  • Turbine speed: 240,000 rpm
  • Fuel: methane
  • Manufacturer: MTT Micro Turbine Technology

Institut für Technische Physik (ITEP)

Energiespeichersysteme und multimodalen Komponenten

ESS

60kW Schwungrad Energie Speichersystem

Ein Schwungrad ist eine Speichertechnologie, die die Energie in kinetische Form enthält.  Diese Energie ist quadratisch proportional zur Rotordrehzahl. Um die gespeicherte Energie zu erhöhen werden deshalb Technologien zur Erhöhung der Drehzahl untergesucht.

Das 60kW Schwungradsystem am im PHIL-Labor besteht aus:

  • Dem eigentlichen Schwungradrotor, das aus kohlefaserverstärktem Kunststoff besteht und sich in einem Vakuumgehäuse magnetisch gelagert mit einer maximalen Drehzahl von 45000 Umdrehungen/Minute dreht.

  • Der elektrischen Maschine (in unserem Fall eine permanentmagneterregte Synchronmaschine), die entweder die mechanische Energie aus dem Rotor in elektrische Energie (das System entlädt) oder elektrische Energie in Rotationsenergie (das System lädt) wandelt.

  • Dem leistungselektronischen Umrichter, der elektrische Maschine mit dem Netz verbindet und die Drehzahl des Rotors regelt.

  • Dem elektronischen Regler, der den sichern Betrieb der Maschine gewährleistet.

 

Microgasturbine

Als wichtige Schlüsseltechnologie zum Erreichen der Ziele der Energiewende wird „Power to Gas“ eine zentrale Rolle zugesprochen. Mit dieser Technologie wird Strom elektrochemisch in Gas umgewandelt und in bestehenden Gasinfrastrukturen gespeichert, transportiert und wieder bereitgestellt. Dabei wird an vielen Gliedern des Umwandlungs- und Verteilungsprozesses geforscht.

Unser Anlagenverbund untersucht dabei detailliert das letzte Glied dieser Kette, den Umwandlungsprozess von Gas zu elektrischer und thermischer Leistung beim Endverbraucher. Die Arbeit umfasst die Modellbildung, das Aufstellen von Anwendungsszenarien sowie die experimentelle Untersuchung des Verhaltens der Gasturbine im Anwendungsfall.

Das Alleinstellungsmerkmal dieses Vorhabens ist die Einbindung aller Arbeitsschritte in die sogenannte Echtzeitsimulationsumgebung (Power Hardware in the Loop). Anders als bei theoretischen Simulationen sind wir mit dem vorhandenen Echtzeitsimulationssystem in der Lage, die reale Gasturbine und das Simulationsmodell zu verbinden. Damit lassen sich alle Untersuchungs- und Modellierungsergebnisse sicher wissenschaftlich validieren. Davon profitieren vor allem die Ergebnisse der Anwendungsszenarien und damit verbunden deren Aussagekraft.

Datenblatt der Anlage:

  • Elektrische Leistung:             3,2 kVA
  • Thermische Leistung:            15,6 kW
  • Turbinendrehzahl:                  240.000 U/min
  • Brennstoff:                             Methan
  • Hersteller:                               MTT Micro Turbine Technology