Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Embrittlement

Durch Verspödung gebrochenes Rohr

In cryogenics two embrittlement mechanisms do occur, low temperature embrittlement and hydrogen embrittlement.

Low temperature embrittlement does affect most materials more or less pronounced. It causes overloaded components to fracture spontaneously rather than accommodating the stress by plastic deformation. The picture shows a fractured fitting whose material was not suitable for low temperatures.
In general, materials with face-centred cubic (fcc) crystal structure as copper, nickel, certain copper nickel alloys, aluminium, certain aluminium alloys, zircon and titanium are suitable for cryogenic applications [2]. (Information on non metallic materials can be found in [3].)
If hydrogen is present during the production of materials or if components come into contact with hydrogen in operation, then hydrogen embrittlement can occur under certain conditions. As the mechanisms of hydrogen embrittlement are not yet fully understood, special caution must be applied. Literature [4,5,6].

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Materialversprödung

Durch Verspödung gebrochenes Rohr


Unterscheidung in:

  • Tieftemperaturversprödung
  • Wasserstoffversprödung.

Tieftemperaturversprödung:

Im Tieftemperaturbereich führt eine Überlastung der Werkstoffe nicht mehr nur zu plastischen Verformungen, sondern zur spontanen Rißbildung. Die Abbildung zeigt den Sprödbruch eines Fittings, dessen Werkstoff nicht für tiefe Temperaturen geeignet ist.
Geeignete Stähle für Tieftemperaturanwendungen sind im AD-Merkblatt W10 aufgeführt. (Daneben eignen sich die meisten Werkstoffe mit kubisch flächenzentrierter Kristallstruktur wie Kupfer, Nickel, Kupfer-Nickel Legierungen, Aluminium und seine Legierungen, Zirkonium und Titan [2]. Angaben über nichtmetallische Werkstoffe finden sich in [3].)
 
Wasserstoffversprödung:
Bei Anwesenheit von Wasserstoff bei der Werkstoffherstellung oder im Betrieb kann es unter bestimmten Bedingungen zur Wasserstoffversprödung kommen. Da die Mechanismen der Wasserstoffversprödung noch nicht umfassend verstanden sind, ist besondere Vorsicht geboten. Literatur [4,5,6]