Institute for Technical Physics

ITEP

Innovative Technologies for Energy and Physics based Technologies

The profile of the ITEP is clearly focused on research and development for a safe and efficient energy supply and use.

The ITEP research activities cover application-oriented technology development, the pursuit of scientific knowledge, the risk analysis of the technologies we work on for public discourse and qualified training in the natural and engineering sciences to promote and secure the next generation of scientists and engineers. 

The strength of the ITEP is connecting scientific research and the transfer to economic applications. The equipment and experiments at the ITEP are very often unique. This special infrastructure and the know-how of the ITEP staff is nationally and internationally widely recognized.

Within the framework of the Helmholtz programme in the field of energy, we focus our work on the development and application of superconducting components for compact and efficient modern energy system components, as well as on new technologies for the fusion fuel cycle, especially in vacuum technology.

Superconducting technologies are part of the general energy roadmap. Superconducting solutions are already established applications in medical, accelerator and high-field technology. Due to the advantages in energy and material efficiency compared to conventional solutions, we expect a strong increase in the commercial use of high temperature superconducting technologies for energy transport, energy storage and energy conversion and use. For this reason, the ITEP is working intensively with industrial companies in the realization or introduction of superconducting systems.

The ITEP covers the entire research and development spectrum from superconducting materials research, component development and cryotechnology to the realisation of complete superconducting systems. This thematic profile is the working basis of the professorships anchored at the ITEP and the associated research fields and topics.

 

Our Research Fields

Superconducting and cryogenic materials form the basis of all superconducting applications. At the ITEP, classical low and high temperature superconductors as well as new superconductor and cryomaterials are investigated and developed with respect to their potential applications in energy and magnetic engineering. This ranges from the understanding of current-carrying superconductor properties, the characterization of mechanical low temperature properties to the development of high-current carrying wire and cable architectures and their manufacturing technologies.

At the ITEP, first demonstrators and prototypes for novel superconducting energy applications are being developed, with a focus on improving resource and energy efficiency. These include powerful and compact AC and DC power lines, energy-efficient and compact transformers, superconducting magnetic energy storage devices and short-circuit current limiting equipment. Further research activities are focused on the development of new simulation tools for the calculation of the complex electromagnetic behaviour of high- temperature superconductors and the real-time integration of novel components and equipment by means of a high-performance power hardware-in-the-loop laboratory. 

Superconducting magnet technology covers a wide field ranging from the simplest windings such as ring and disc coils, solenoids and pole coils to complete magnet systems and/or demanding 3D windings which can no longer be realized on simple geometric bodies. These components are used, for example, in medical diagnostics and research (MRI & NMR), in power engineering (transformers, motors / generators), in industrial magnets (magnetization, damping/stabilization, coating), in high-energy physics (accelerators, fusion) and in special magnets. Research and development in the fields of calculation/design, production, testing and operation (temperatures from 1.8 K to 300 K) is supported by competence and facilities in the field of winding technology (conventional and/or several cooperating 2- to 6-axis robots with dedicated winding hand), potting & impregnation and cryotechnical test facilities for components of representative dimensions (up to the order of magnitude of "meters").

The reliable operation of a fusion power plant requires the safe processing of the fusion fuel in a closed loop and the control of the fusion plasma in a vacuum chamber of unprecedented complexity. In the key area of vacuum, the ITEP provides an infrastructure that is unique in the world and which allows scientific and technical know-how to be secured and further developed over the long term.

Institut für Technische Physik (ITEP)

Das ITEP

Innovative Technologien für Energie und Physikalisch-technische Grundlagen

Das Profil des ITEP ist klar fokussiert auf Forschung und Entwicklung für eine sichere und effiziente Energieversorgung und -nutzung.

Das ITEP bewegt sich dabei in einem Spannungsfeld zwischen anwendungsorientierter Technologieentwicklung, dem Streben nach wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnis, der Aufbereitung von Chancen und Risiken der von uns bearbeiteten Technologien für den öffentlichen Diskurs und die qualifizierte Ausbildung in den Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften zur Förderung und Sicherung des wissenschaftlich-technischen Nachwuchses. 

Die Stärke des ITEP ist dabei die verbindende Position zwischen der wissenschaftlichen Forschung und dem Transfer in die wirtschaftliche Anwendung in unseren Arbeitsbereichen. Die Apparaturen und Experimente am ITEP sind sehr oft einzigartig. Diese besondere Infrastruktur und das Know-how der ITEP-Mitarbeiter*innen sind ein national und international anerkanntes Alleinstellungsmerkmal.

Im Rahmen der Helmholtzprogrammatik im Bereich Energie fokussieren wir unsere Arbeiten auf die Entwicklung und Anwendung supraleitender Komponenten für kompakte und effiziente Komponenten moderner Energiesysteme, sowie auf neue Technologien für den Fusionsbrennstoffkreislauf, insbesondere in der Vakuumtechnik.

Technologien der Supraleitung sind Bestandteil der allgemeinen Roadmap zum Thema Energie. In der Medizin-, Beschleuniger- und Hochfeld-Technologie sind supraleitende Lösungen bereits etablierte Anwendungen. Aufgrund der Vorteile in Energie- und Materialeffizienz gegenüber herkömmlichen Lösungen erwarten wir einen starken Anstieg der kommerziellen Nutzung der HTSL-Technologie für Energietransport, Energiespeicherung sowie Energiewandlung und -nutzung. Daher arbeitet das ITEP intensiv mit Industrieunternehmen bei der Realisierung bzw. Einführung von supraleitenden Systemen zusammen.

Das ITEP deckt dabei das gesamte Forschungs- und Entwicklungsspektrum von supraleitender Materialforschung über Komponentenentwicklung und Kryotechnologie bis zur Realisierung kompletter Supraleitungssysteme ab. Dieses thematische Profil ist Arbeitsgrundlage der am ITEP verankerten Professuren und der damit verbundenen Forschungsfelder und -themen.

 

 

Unsere Forschungsfelder:

Supraleiter- und Kryomaterialien bilden die Grundlage aller supraleitenden Anwendungen. Am ITEP werden sowohl klassische Tieftemperatur- und Hochtemperatursupraleiter, als auch neue Supraleiter- und Kryomaterialien hinsichtlich Ihres Anwendungspotentials für energie- und magnettechnische Anwendungen untersucht und entwickelt. Dies erstreckt sich von dem Verständnis der stromtragenden Supraleitereigenschaften über die Charakterisierung der mechanischen Tieftemperatureigenschaften bis hin zur Entwicklung hochstromtragender Draht- und Kabelarchitekturen und deren Herstellungstechnologien.

Am ITEP werden erste Demonstratoren und Prototypen für neuartige supraleitende, energietechnische Anwendungen entwickelt, mit dem Schwerpunkt der Erhöhung der Ressourcen- und Energieeffizienz. Dazu gehören unter anderem leistungsstarke und kompakte AC und DC Energieleitungen, energieeffiziente und kompakte Transformatoren, supraleitende magnetische Energiespeicher sowie kurzschlussstrombegrenzende Betriebsmittel. Weitere Forschungsschwerpunkte sind die Entwicklung neuer Simulationswerkzeuge für die Berechnung des komplexen elektromagnetischen Verhaltens der Hochtemperatur-Supraleiter und die Echtzeitintegration neuartiger Komponenten und Betriebsmittel mittels eines leistungsstarken Power-Hardware-in-the-Loop Labors. 

Die supraleitende Magnettechnologie umfasst ein weites Feld beginnend mit einfachsten Wicklungen wie Ring- und Scheibenspulen über Solenoide und Polspulen bis hin zu kompletten Magnetsystemen und/ oder anspruchsvollen 3D-Wicklungen, die sich nicht mehr auf einfachen geometrischen Körpern realisieren lassen. 

Anwendung finden diese Komponenten beispielsweise in der Medizinischen Diagnostik und Forschung (MRI & NMR), in der Energietechnik (Transformatoren, Motoren/ Generatoren), in Industriemagneten (Aufmagnetisierung, Dämpfung/ Stabilisierung, Beschichtung), in der Hochenergiephysik (Beschleuniger, Fusion) und in Spezialmagneten. 

Die Forschung und Entwicklung in den Bereichen Berechnung/ Auslegung, Fertigung, Test und Betrieb (Temperaturen von 1.8 K bis 300 K) wird unterstützt durch Kompetenzen und Anlagen im Bereich Wickeltechnik (konventionell und/oder mehrere zusammenarbeitende 2- bis 6-Achsen-Roboter mit dedizierter Wickelhand), Verguß & Imprägnierung und kryotechnischen Versuchsanlagen für Komponenten repräsentativer Abmessungen (bis zur Größenordnung „Meter“).

Der zuverlässige Betrieb eines Fusionskraftwerks erfordert das sichere Prozessieren des Fusionsbrennstoffs in einem geschlossenen Kreislauf und die Kontrolle des Fusionsplasmas in einer Vakuumkammer mit noch nie dagewesener Komplexität. In dem Schlüsselbereich Vakuum hält das ITEP eine weltweit einzigartige Infrastruktur bereit, die es gestattet, das wissenschaftlich-technische Know-how langfristig zu sichern und weiter auszubauen.