Institute for Technical Physics

FuSyC

Functional materials: synthesis and characterization

The FuSyC laboratory network comprises the infrastructure of various ITEP research topics. In particular, work on the topics "superconducting materials" and "structural and functional materials for cryo applications" is carried out here.

The laboratories for the synthesis of functional materials enable the production of superconducting layers by means of pulsed laser deposition (PLD) and chemical solution deposition (CSD). The targets required for pulsed laser deposition are produced in the solid state chemistry laboratories, just as the solutions for chemical solution deposition are produced in the chemistry laboratory.

Material parameters such as crystal structure, composition, surface quality, texture etc. of various functional materials are determined in the laboratories for "structure determination". The samples are prepared in the materialography and then analyzed. Common methods such as X-ray structure analysis, optical and scanning electron microscopy as well as surface analysis are available.

Superconducting, magnetic, electrical and thermal properties can be determined by a selection of global and local measurement techniques. Besides the infrastructure for inductive determination of critical temperature Tc and critical current Ic, two PPMS (9T and 14T) and a split-coil magnet are available. Superconducting samples are photolithographically structured before being measureed in the PPMS.

Institut für Technische Physik (ITEP)

FuSyC

Funktionsmaterialien: Synthese und Charakterisierung

Der Laborverbund FuSyC umfasst die Infrastruktur verschiedener ITEP-Forschungsthemen. Insbesondere Arbeiten zu den Themen „supraleitende Materialien“ und „Struktur- und Funktionsmaterialien für Kryoanwendungen“ finden hier statt.

Speziell ermöglichen die Labore zur Synthese von Funktionsmaterialien die Herstellung supraleitender Schichten mittels gepulster Laserdeposition (PLD) sowie chemischer Lösungsabscheidung (CSD). Die für die gepulste Laserabscheidung nötigen Targets werden im festkörperchemischen Labor hergestellt.Für die Herstellung der Lösungen für die chemische Lösungsabscheidung bietet das Chemielabor alle Möglichkeiten.

Materialparameter wie Kristallstruktur, Zusammensetzung, Oberflächenbeschaffenheit, Textur etc. von verschiedensten Funktionsmaterialien werden in den Laboren zur „Strukturbestimmung“ ermittelt. Die Proben werden in der Materialographie vorbereitet und anschließend analysiert. Zur Analyse stehen gängige Verfahren wie Röntgenstrukturananlyse, optische - und Rasterelektronen-Mikroskopie und Oberflächenanalyse zur Verfügung.

Supraleitende, magnetische, elektrische und thermische Eigenschaften können durch eine Auswahl von globalen und lokalen Messverfahren bestimmt werden. Neben der Infrastruktur zur induktiven Bestimmung von kritischer Temperatur Tc und kritischem Strom Ic stehen zwei PPMS (9T und 14T) sowie ein Split-Coil-Magnet zur Verfügung. Supraleitende Proben werden vor dem Einbau ins PPMS photolithographisch strukturiert.