Institute for Technical Physics

Cryogenic High Voltage Lab of KIT-ITEP

The Cryogenic High Voltage Lab was established for supporting high voltage activities of superconducting fusion magnets. Since the 1990s high voltage tasks for cryogenic power engineering were started.

Collaboration with external partners or testing for industry is possible on request.

Table of contents

sprungmarken_marker_673

Basic research (e.g. breakdown or flashover voltage of liquid nitrogen for voltages > 200 kV)

Dielectric properties of gaseous, liquid and solid dielectrics were investigated. Present (2020) activities are investigation of flashovers on liquid nitrogen to solid insulator boundaries under DC operation.

Recent publications:

S. Fink and V. Zwecker, " DC breakdown tests with pressurized liquid nitrogen," 2020 IEEE International Conference on Dielectrics (ICD), Valencia, virtual conference, to be published.

S. Fink, V. Zwecker, "15 min DC breakdown tests with liquid nitrogen," 20th International Conference on Dielectric Liquids (ICDL), Roma, Italy, 2019, pp. 1-4.

Fig. 01
Fig. 1: View through the observation window of a cryostat during breakdown stress testing of liquid nitrogen under bubble generation. Adjustable electrode distance up to 96 mm, the cryostat diameter is 650 mm.

Development of high voltage components (e. g. insulation breaks)

The Cryogenic High Voltage Lab has a long tradition in development and production of a low number of pieces of high voltage components for superconducting fusion magnets (e. g. Euratom LCT coil, Polo Coil, ITER TF Model Coil). Also for ITER developments of prototype were done in collaboration with industry in order to ensure a production process which is compatible for a larger number of pieces.

Cryogenic Components for power engineering were also developed in cooperation with industry (e. g. superconducting fault current limiter).

Publications:

S. Fink, U. Fuhrmann, C. Lange, R. Mueller, V. Zwecker, "3D printed cryogenic high voltage devices," in IEEE Transactions on Applied Superconductivity, vol. 26, no. 3, pp. 1-4, April 2016

W. Fietz, S. Fink, U. Fuhrmann, R. Müller, E. Urbach, V. Zwecker, A. Brummer, R. Oberstarr, C. Wildner, F, Wimmer, K.Woelfl, "Pluggable 56 kV instrumentation feedthrough prototypes for ITER magnets," Trans. on Applied Superconductivity, vol.24, no.3, June 2014

W. Fietz, S. Fink, G. Kraft, H. Scheller, E. Urbach, V. Zwecker, "High voltage testing of ITER prototype axial breaks," Trans. on Applied Superconductivity, vol.23, no.3, pp.4200604-4200604, June 2013

Stefan Fink
Fig. 2: 3D printed design study of an insulation break with a reverted gas path in an axial insulation break
Stefan Fink
Fig. 3: Production and use of some high voltage components for ITER TF Model Coil (frp and polyimide axial insulation breaks, radial insulation break, high voltage instrumentations cable feedthroughs and connectors)

Electrostatic field, FEM and network calculations (e. g. transient electrical behavior of fusion magnets)

Even simple RLC circuits can have (frequency dependent) higher internal voltages than the outer terminal voltage. Frequency depending internal voltage distribution is an important issue for the design of large high voltage apparatus. For superconducting magnets and magnet systems the voltage distribution of the coil system and within different magnets (ITER TF Model coil, ITER CS Model Coil, ITER TF, ITER PF3, ITER PF4) were calculated with network calculation program (PSpice) in frequency and time domain. Coil parameters are calculated analytically or by 2D-FEM.

Electrostatic field calculation can be performed in 2D (BEM and FEM) and 3D (FEM).

Publications:

S. Fink, “Electrostatic field calculations for liquid nitrogen gaps assuming a decisive field factor,” Int. Journal of Applied Power Engineering (IJAPE), Vol.7, No.1, 2018, pp. 65~72

A. Winkler, W. Fietz, S. Fink, M. Noe, "Transient electrical voltages within ITER poloidal field coils," Trans. on Applied Superconductivity, vol.22, no.3, pp.9501304-9501304, June 2012

Stefan Fink
Fig. 4: Different calculation models (field calculation, network model of ITER TF)

High voltage support for other facilities, esp. of large size fusion magnets

Mobile equipment makes it possible to perform on site high voltage tests. Especially testing of superconducting large fusion magnets in a special building of KIT-ITEP (TOSKA) was supported.

Publications:

S. Fink, A. Ulbricht, H. Fillunger, A. Bourquard, M. Prevot, "High voltage tests of the ITER toroidal field model coil insulation system," Trans. on Applied Superconductivity, vol.12, no.1, pp.554-557, Mar 2002

S. Fink, S.; W. Fietz, "Long-term high voltage tests of the conductor insulation of a superconducting magnet," Conference on Electrical Insulation and Dielectric Phenomena (CEIDP), pp.357-360, 16-19 Oct. 2005

Stefan Fink
Fig. 5: High voltage testing of ITER TF Model Coil outside the cryostat in the Toroidal Coil Test Facility (TOSKA) of KIT

Main equipment:

Equipment for high voltage testing with direct, alternating and impulse waveform is available in the Cryogenic High Voltage Lab of KIT-ITEP. Voltage, current, partial discharge, and Schering-bridge measurement can be performed. Several cryostats for liquid helium and liquid nitrogen with diameters up to 650 mm and for different pressures are available. Liquid helium and liquid nitrogen supply is permanently accessible.

Fig06 Stefan Fink
2 experimental cabins (one full screened)
HV-Lab_Fig07_Fatelini 2_800x872 Stefan Fink
AC: 230 kV, 20 kVA
HV-Lab_Fig08_SAM_0422_800x600 Stefan Fink
Standard lightning impulse: 360 kV
HV-Lab_Fig09_Panorama 2476-77_800x600 Stefan Fink
DC: 325 kV
Fig 10 Stefan Fink
Schering-Bridge
HV-Lab_Fig11_SAM_1148 modified_800x600 Stefan Fink
Partial discharge measurement

Institut für Technische Physik (ITEP)

Kryogenes Hochspannungslabor des KIT-ITEP

Das Tieftemperatur-Hochspannungslabor wurde zur Unterstützung der Hochspannungsaktivitäten von supraleitenden Fusionsmagneten eingerichtet. Seit den 1990er Jahren wurden Hochspannungsaufgaben für die kryogene Energietechnik begonnen.

Eine Zusammenarbeit mit externen Partnern oder Prüfungen für die Industrie ist auf Anfrage möglich.

Inhaltsverzeichnis:

sprungmarken_marker_673

Grundlagenforschung (z. B. Durchschlag- oder Überschlagspannung von flüssigem Stickstoff für Spannungen > 200 kV)

Untersucht wurden dielektrische Eigenschaften von gasförmigen, flüssigen und festen Isolierstoffen. Gegenwärtig (2020) werden Überschläge an Feststoffisolatoren in flüssigem Stickstoff bei Gleichspannungsbelastung untersucht.

Jüngste Veröffentlichungen:

S. Fink and V. Zwecker, " DC breakdown tests with pressurized liquid nitrogen," 2020 IEEE International Conference on Dielectrics (ICD), Valencia, virtual conference, to be published. .

S. Fink, V. Zwecker, "15 min DC breakdown tests with liquid nitrogen," 20th International Conference on Dielectric Liquids (ICDL), Roma, Italy, 2019, pp. 1-4.

Abb. 1
Abb. 1: Blick durch das Beobachtungsfenster eines Kryostaten bei der Durchschlagspannungsprüfung von flüssigem Stickstoff unter Blasenerzeugung. Einstellbarer Elektrodenabstand bis zu 96 mm, der Kryostatdurchmesser beträgt 650 mm.

Entwicklung von Hochspannungskomponenten (z. B. Potentialtrenner)

Das Tieftemperatur-Hochspannungslabor hat eine lange Tradition in der Entwicklung und Herstellung einer geringen Stückzahl von Hochspannungskomponenten für supraleitende Fusionsmagnete (z. B. Euratom-LCT-Spule, Polo-Spule, ITER-TF-Modellspule). Auch für ITER wurden in Zusammenarbeit mit der Industrie Prototypen entwickelt, um einen Produktionsprozess zu gewährleisten, der für eine größere Stückzahl kompatibel ist.

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Industrie wurden auch kryogene Komponenten für die Energietechnik entwickelt (z. B. supraleitender Strombegrenzer).

Veröffentlichungen:

S. Fink, U. Fuhrmann, C. Lange, R. Mueller, V. Zwecker, "3D printed cryogenic high voltage devices," in IEEE Transactions on Applied Superconductivity, vol. 26, no. 3, pp. 1-4, April 2016

W. Fietz, S. Fink, U. Fuhrmann, R. Müller, E. Urbach, V. Zwecker, A. Brummer, R. Oberstarr, C. Wildner, F, Wimmer, K.Woelfl, "Pluggable 56 kV instrumentation feedthrough prototypes for ITER magnets," Trans. on Applied Superconductivity, vol.24, no.3, June 2014

W. Fietz, S. Fink, G. Kraft, H. Scheller, E. Urbach, V. Zwecker, "High voltage testing of ITER prototype axial breaks," Trans. on Applied Superconductivity, vol.23, no.3, pp.4200604-4200604, June 2013

Stefan Fink
Abb. 2: 3D gedruckte Designstudie eines axialen Potentialtrenners mit umgekehrtem Gaspfad.
Stefan Fink
Abb. 3: Herstellung und Verwendung einiger Hochspannungskomponenten für die ITER TF-Modellspule (GFK und Polyimid axiale Potentialtrenner, radialer Potentialtrenner, Kabeldurchführungen und Verbinder für Hochspannungsmessgeräte)

Elektrostatische Feld-, FEM- und Netzwerkberechnungen (z. B. transientes elektrisches Verhalten von Fusionsmagneten)

Selbst einfache RLC-Schaltungen können (frequenzabhängig) höhere interne Spannungen als die äußere Klemmenspannung haben. Die frequenzabhängige interne Spannungsverteilung ist ein wichtiger Punkt bei der Konstruktion großer Hochspannungsapparate. Für supraleitende Magnete und Magnetsysteme wurde die Spannungsverteilung des Spulensystems und innerhalb verschiedener Magnete (ITER TF Modellspule, ITER CS Modellspule, ITER TF, ITER PF3, ITER PF4) mit einem Netzberechnungsprogramm (PSpice) im Frequenz- und Zeitbereich berechnet. Spulenparameter werden analytisch oder mittels 2D-FEM berechnet.

Die Berechnung elektrostatischer Felder kann in 2D (BEM und FEM) und 3D (FEM) durchgeführt werden.

Veröffentlichungen:

S. Fink, “Electrostatic field calculations for liquid nitrogen gaps assuming a decisive field factor,” Int. Journal of Applied Power Engineering (IJAPE), Vol.7, No.1, 2018, pp. 65~72

A. Winkler, W. Fietz, S. Fink, M. Noe, "Transient electrical voltages within ITER poloidal field coils," Trans. on Applied Superconductivity, vol.22, no.3, pp.9501304-9501304, June 2012

Stefan Fink
Abb. 4: Verschiedene Berechnungsmodelle (Feldberechnung, Netzwerkmodell von ITER TF)

Hochspannungsprüfungen für andere Einrichtungen, insbesondere für großformatige Fusionsmagnete

Mobile Geräte ermöglichen die Durchführung von Hochspannungstests vor Ort. Insbesondere die Prüfung von supraleitenden großen Fusionsmagneten in einem speziellen Gebäude von KIT-ITEP (TOSKA) wurde unterstützt.

Veröffentlichungen:

S. Fink, A. Ulbricht, H. Fillunger, A. Bourquard, M. Prevot, "High voltage tests of the ITER toroidal field model coil insulation system," Trans. on Applied Superconductivity, vol.12, no.1, pp.554-557, Mar 2002

S. Fink, S.; W. Fietz, "Long-term high voltage tests of the conductor insulation of a superconducting magnet," Conference on Electrical Insulation and Dielectric Phenomena (CEIDP), pp.357-360, 16-19 Oct. 2005

Stefan Fink
Abb. 5: Hochspannungsprüfung der ITER TF-Modellspule außerhalb des Kryostaten in der Toroidal Coil Test Facility (TOSKA) des KIT

Ausrüstung:

Im Tieftemperatur-Hochspannungslabor des KIT-ITEP stehen Geräte für Hochspannungsprüfungen mit Gleich-, Wechsel- und Blitzstoßspannung zur Verfügung. Es können Spannungs-, Strom-, Teilentladungs- und Schering-Brückenmessungen durchgeführt werden. Mehrere Kryostate für flüssiges Helium und flüssigen Stickstoff mit Durchmessern bis zu 650 mm und für verschiedene Drücke stehen zur Verfügung. Die Versorgung mit flüssigem Helium und flüssigem Stickstoff ist permanent zugänglich.

Fig06 Stefan Fink
2 Versuchskabinen (eine voll abgeschirmt)
HV-Lab_Fig07_Fatelini 2_800x872 Stefan Fink
AC: 230 kV, 20 kVA
HV-Lab_Fig08_SAM_0422_800x600 Stefan Fink
Genormte Blitzstoßspannung: 360 kV
HV-Lab_Fig09_Panorama 2476-77_800x600 Stefan Fink
DC: 325 kV
Fig 10 Stefan Fink
Schering-Brücke
HV-Lab_Fig11_SAM_1148 modified_800x600 Stefan Fink
Messung von Teilentladungen