Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT
SuSchi-2016-Jens
Dr. Jens Hänisch
Group leader

Tel: +49 721 608-28093

Email: jens haenischEou8∂kit edu

mehr...

Suschi-Holzapfel
Prof. Bernhard Holzapfel
Professor of Superconducting Materialis at the Department of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology

mehr...

Available student projects

An overview of open topics can be found here...

Superconducting films

Titelbild_SuSchi

We investigate application-relevant superconductors, mainly in thin the form of films, regarding optimal preparation techniques, improvements of their electrical transport properties and possible applications. The work is structured in three research focusses which are interconnected and built on each other:

 

New Materials: The growth of thin films and layer systems of novel superconductors (as recently the Fe-based superconductors, FBS) is investigated fundamentally and optimized for the preparation of high-quality samples (microstructure and superconducting properties). Especially the pulsed laser deposition (PLD) and the chemical solution deposition (CSD) are used. Material parameters and structure-property relationships of new, especially application-relevant superconductors are investigated in detail.

 

Electrical Transport Properties: Promising new and established superconductors are tailored and optimized regarding specific applications, especially in electrical energy technology. At the same time, the knowledge on anisotropic pinning in layer systems of unconventional superconductors (cuprates, FBS) and their nanocomposites as well as in well-established low-temperature superconductors (e.g. Nb3Sn) is extended. The goal is to adjust the microstructure to be optimal for a specific application, to possibly achieve record values of critical current and pinning force densities or even to reach fundamental limits.

 

Coated conductor development: Here, the results of 1. and 2. are transferred to films on technical substrates with the goal to improve the coated conductor production of these materials. Novel materials and material combinations are first deposited on small samples (typically 1 × 1 cm), established, industry-relevant materials also in reel-to-reel deposition on up to 100 m long metallic tapes. Cooperations with industry partners (recently dnano, THEVA, Bruker) are desired.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT
SuSchi-2016-Jens
Dr. Jens Hänisch
Gruppenleiter

Tel: +49 721 608-28093

Email: jens haenischHwd5∂kit edu

mehr...

Holzapfel-ITEP
Prof. Bernhard Holzapfel
Professor für Supraleitende Materialien an der Fakultät für Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik

mehr...

Themenangebote für Studenten und Doktoranden

Eine Übersicht der aktuellen zu bearbeitenden Themen gibt es hier

Supraleitende Schichten

Titelbild_SuSchi

In unserer Gruppe Supraleitende Schichten untersuchen wir anwendungsrelevante Supraleiter, vorwiegend in Form dünner Schichten, hinsichtlich optimaler Herstellungsmethoden, Verbesserungen ihrer elektrischen Transporteigenschaften und möglichen Anwendungen. Die Arbeiten gliedern sich in drei Forschungsschwerpunkte, die miteinander verknüpft sind und aufeinander aufbauen:

 

Neue Materialien: Das Wachstum von Schichten und Schichtsysteme neuartiger Supraleiter (wie derzeit der Fe-basierten Supraleiter, FBS) wird grundlegend untersucht und für hochqualitative Proben (Mikrostruktur und Supraleitung) optimiert. Hierbei kommen vor allem die gepulste Laserdeposition (PLD) und die Chemische Lösungsabscheidung (CSD) zum Einsatz. Materialparameter und Struktur-Eigenschaftsbeziehungen neuer, vor allem anwendungsrelevanter Supraleiter werden im Detail untersucht.

Elektrische Transporteigenschaften: Vielversprechende neue sowie etablierte Supraleiter werden im Hinblick auf Anwendungen in der Energietechnik für bestimmte Anwendungsfelder maßgeschneidert und optimiert. Dabei wird insbesondere der Kenntnisstand zum anisotropen Pinningverhalten von Schichtsystemen unkonventioneller Supraleiter (Kuprate, FBS) und ihrer Nanokomposite als auch zur Pinninglandschaft in Tieftemperatursupraleitern (z.B. Nb3Sn) mit dem Ziel erweitert, die optimale Mikrostruktur für eine Anwendung einstellen zu können und dabei mögliche neue Rekordwerte in Pinningkraft und kritischer Stromdichte zu erzielen bzw. fundamentale Grenzen zu erreichen.

Bandleiterentwicklung: Hier werden die Ergebnisse aus 1. und 2. auf technische Substrate übertragen mit dem Ziel, die Bandleiterherstellung für diese Materialien zu verbessern. Neuartige Materialien und Materialkombinationen werden zuerst als Kleinproben (1×1 cm), etablierte, industrierelevante Materialkombinationen auch per kontinuierlicher Beschichtung auf bis zu 100 m langen Bandleitersubstraten abgeschieden. Hierbei werden Kooperationen mit Industriepartnern angestrebt (derzeit dnano, THEVA, Bruker).